Obtaining an adequate net income

The last few years have not been easy in terms of farm income. On several occasions our financial stability has been shaken by various events, especially the COVID-19 crisis, the instability of the price of milk due to falling world prices, the latest trade agreements made by the Government of Canada, and an extraordinary increase in on-farm feed costs.

Incomes below cost increases create frustration and uncertainty for farmers. It’s  understandable! And even though this isn’t the first time we’ve experienced financial hardship and instability, it’s still hard to take.

What we are experiencing now is a combination of several factors, including a dramatic increase in on-farm feed costs. Since the end of 2020, only for animal feed, the increase is estimated at over 25%, or more than $4.50/hl. This is huge! Apart from these additional costs, there are fuel, fertilizer and other expenses. The price adjustment that was applied as of February 1, 2021 does not reflect the cost increases of the last few months. The indexation is based on the 2019 cost of production survey indexed to August 2020.

In addition to the effects of rising costs, there are other variables that influence income, such as world prices and the sales structure. While world prices have recovered in recent months, the sale structure has hurt our income more. In fact, the special classes, which are directly influenced by  strong demand from the secondary food processing sector, have seen their sales rise in recent months. The increase has been a meteoric 27% in the last year! While less beneficial to our income, the special classes are also part of the effects of trade agreements and commitments made to support supply management. This doesn’t mean it isn’t necessary to review the administration of these classes, and that’s why a working group on the subject has been  set up. Another well-known factor influencing our income downward is the strong demand for butterfat in general, which increases the surplus of solids non-fat (SNF) in our market.  Since the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) came into effect, the surplus issue  is compounded by the cap on exports which limits possible outlets for these SNF. Therefore, despite the February 1, 2020 and 2021 price increases, the one-year change was only $0.72/hl, or 1%.

Also, the COVID-19 crisis has had and will continue to have financial impacts on different sectors, including our industry. As for the consequences of the trade agreements, the compensation announced for the first two agreements in fall 2020 was a way to mitigate the effects, even if we would have preferred to produce the 8.4% of the Canadian market that was conceded. This good news isn’t enough, because no announcement has been made yet for CUSMA. We still expect the Government to promptly honour its commitment to provide full and fair compensation for the impacts of CUSMA including lost markets, additional costs arising from the elimination of the ingredients class and the export cap.

___________________________________

What we are experiencing now is a combination of several factors, including a dramatic increase in
on-farm feed costs. Since the end of 2020, for animal feed alone, the increase is estimated at over 25%, or more than $4.50/hl. This is huge!
___________________________________

 

Our buyers also face challenges. The negotiations and leeway they have with retailers are increasingly difficult and tight. At least the recent announcement of an eventual code of conduct is a step in the right direction to making the food supply chain more efficient by improving transparency, fairness and predictability in relations between suppliers and retailers. We should mention that consumers will benefit the most from a healthier agri-food business climate.

But one question remains: what options do we have to improve farm income? In the short term, even if grain prices are down slightly, we’re a long way from covering the cost of production. That’s why we promptly reported the difficult context to Dairy Farmers of Canada, so that requests will be prepared for the next price indexation by the Canadian Dairy Commission. We want the decision to reflect the cost of production increase for the next milk price adjustment in February 2022. Furthermore, last July, the CDC recognized the negative impacts of changes in the sales structure on our farm businesses, by adjusting the parameters for triggering the exceptional circumstances mechanism. This decision will provide a tool to correct the gaps between income and the cost of production on a permanent, rather than a temporary basis.

In the medium and long term, as producers, we must continue our efforts to improve our  production costs. As a marketing board, we will continue to work with our industry partners to develop markets that offer a better return, including fluid milk, cheese and yogurt, as well as finding all possible outlets to add value to surplus SNF on the Canadian market. To achieve this, we must always keep in mind the needs and expectations of our consumers for a sustainable and nutritious product. Our industry’s response to consumer expectations is a key element in maintaining and developing our most profitable markets.

The dairy industry contributes to the vitality and economic health of our regions. Milk producers must also benefit from this prosperity.  Rest assured that your elected officials and your organization are making every effort to achieve this goal. Our priority remains the same: to obtain the best marketing conditions for our milk, so as to ensure the durability, profitability and sustainable development of our dairy farms.

 

SignatureDanielGobeil

 

 

 

Daniel Gobeil, Chair

 

Download the last editorial

Un revenu net adéquat

Des revenus inférieurs aux hausses de coûts engendrent de la frustration et de l’incertitude chez les producteurs. Ça se comprend! Et même si ce n’est pas la première fois que nous subissons des coups durs et de l’instabilité quant à nos finances, c’est toujours aussi difficile à encaisser.

Ce que nous vivons actuellement combine plusieurs facteurs, dont une hausse fulgurante des coûts d’alimentation à la ferme. Depuis la fin de l’année 2020, seulement pour l’alimentation animale, on estime la hausse à plus de 25 %, soit un effet dépassant 4,50 $/hl. C’est énorme! À ces frais supplémentaires s’ajoutent ceux du carburant, des engrais et des autres postes de dépenses. L’ajustement de prix qui s’est appliqué au 1er février 2021 ne tient pas compte de la hausse des coûts des derniers mois. En effet, l’indexation est basée sur l’enquête de coût de production de 2019 indexée jusqu’au mois d’aout 2020.

Aux effets de la hausse des coûts s’ajoutent d’autres variables qui viennent influencer le revenu, comme les prix mondiaux et la structure des ventes. Si les prix mondiaux se sont rétablis dans les derniers mois, la structure des ventes a fait plus mal à notre revenu. En effet, les classes spéciales, directement influencées par la forte demande du secteur de la transformation alimentaire secondaire, ont vu leurs ventes s’accroitre ces derniers mois. L’augmentation a été fulgurante durant la dernière année : 27 %! Autre facteur, bien connu celui-là, influençant notre revenu à la baisse : une forte demande pour la matière grasse de manière générale, qui accroit les surplus de solides non gras (SNG) sur notre marché. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord Canada–États-Unis–Mexique (ACEUM), à l’enjeu du surplus s’additionne le plafond sur les exportations qui limite les possibilités de débouchés pour ces SNG. Ainsi, malgré les hausses de prix du 1er février 2020 et 2021, la variation sur 1 an n’était que de 0,72 $/hl, soit 1 %.

S’ajoute au tableau, la crise de la COVID-19 qui a eu et continuera longtemps d’avoir des impacts financiers pour différents secteurs, dont notre industrie. Quant aux conséquences des accords commerciaux, l’annonce des compensations pour les deux premiers accords à l’automne 2020 était pour nous un moyen d’atténuer les effets, et ce, même si nous aurions préféré produire ici le 8,4 % du marché canadien concédé. Cette bonne nouvelle est insuffisante, car aucune annonce n’a encore été faite pour l’ACEUM. Nous nous attendons toujours à ce que le gouvernement respecte son engagement à verser rapidement une indemnisation complète et équitable pour les impacts de l’ACEUM, qui comprennent les pertes de marchés, les coûts additionnels de l’élimination de la classe d’ingrédients et le plafonnement des exportations.

De leur côté, nos acheteurs aussi doivent affronter des défis. Les négociations et la marge de manœuvre qu’ils ont avec les détaillants s’avèrent de plus en plus ardues et serrées. Au moins, l’annonce récente d’un éventuel code de conduite est un pas dans la bonne direction pour rendre la chaine alimentaire plus efficace en améliorant la transparence, l’équité et la prévisibilité dans les relations entre les fournisseurs et les détaillants. Notons au passage que ce seront surtout les consommateurs qui bénéficieront d’un climat d’affaires plus sain dans l’agroalimentaire.

___________________________________

Ce que nous vivons actuellement combine plusieurs
facteurs, dont une hausse fulgurante des coûts
d’alimentation à la ferme. Depuis la fin de l’année
2020, seulement pour l’alimentation animale, on
estime la hausse à plus de 25 %, soit un effet
dépassant 4,50 $/hl. C’est énorme!

___________________________________

 

Mais une question demeure : quelles options avons-nous pour améliorer le revenu des producteurs? À court terme, même si les prix des grains sont légèrement à la baisse, on est loin du compte en matière de couverture du coût de production. C’est pourquoi nous avons rapidement indiqué le contexte difficile aux Producteurs laitiers du Canada afin que des demandes soient formulées en vue de la prochaine indexation des prix par la Commission canadienne du lait. Nous voulons que la hausse des coûts de production des derniers mois soit prise en compte dans la décision pour le prochain ajustement du prix du lait de février 2022. De plus, en juillet dernier, la CCL a reconnu les impacts négatifs sur nos entreprises des changements à la structure des ventes en ajustant des paramètres dans l’application des circonstances exceptionnelles. Cette décision offrira un outil pour corriger de façon permanente et non temporaire les écarts entre le revenu et le coût de production.

À moyen et long terme, nous devons comme producteur poursuivre nos démarches pour améliorer nos coûts de production. Comme office de mise en marché, nous continuerons de travailler en collaboration avec nos partenaires de la filière pour développer des marchés qui offrent une meilleure rémunération, dont le lait de consommation, le fromage et le yogourt, en plus de trouver tous les débouchés possibles pour valoriser les SNG en trop sur le marché canadien. Pour y arriver, nous devrons toujours garder le cap sur les besoins et attentes de nos consommateurs pour un produit durable et nutritif. La réponse qu’offrira notre secteur aux attentes des consommateurs est un élément clé pour maintenir et développer nos marchés les plus payants.

L’industrie laitière contribue à la vitalité et à la santé économique de nos régions. Les producteurs de lait doivent eux aussi bénéficier de cette prospérité. Soyez assurés que vos élus et votre organisation ne négligent aucun effort pour atteindre ce but. Notre priorité demeure la même : obtenir les meilleures conditions de mise en marché de notre lait afin d’assurer la pérennité, la rentabilité et le développement durable de nos fermes laitières.

SignatureDanielGobeil

 

 

 

Daniel Gobeil, président

 

Télécharger l’éditorial du président