A mobile app that finds local products!

The Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA) has launched a new app called Mangeons local plus que jamais! (Let’s Eat Local More Than Ever!). Presented by Desjardins, this tool finds Quebec farms, markets and processors that sell directly to the public. Users can activate the geolocation feature on their cell phones to easily locate points of sale and create personalized car or bike routes to their chosen food destinations. A blog section provides agri-food sector information, recipes, and food processing and conservation tips. Lastly, an online store offers items with the movement’s logo.

 

The app is a very fitting product by the movement of the same name, which was launched in April at the peak of the health crisis. At that time, the UPA had transferred the contact information of 1,000 producers to the Le Panier Bleu platform and released 50 video testimonials on social media, inviting consumers to visit Quebec farms.

 

The app is available on Google Play and the App Store. A Web version will soon be available at mangeonslocal.upa.qc.ca and include a contest offering $50 gift certificates to points of sale identified by the app.

Mangeons local plus que jamais!

L’Union des producteurs agricoles lance l’application Mangeons local plus que jamais! Présenté par Desjardins, cet outil permet de repérer les fermes, marchés et transformateurs du Québec qui font de la vente directe au public. Les utilisateurs peuvent facilement trouver les points de vente en activant la géolocalisation sur leur cellulaire et créer des circuits personnalisés pour des virées gourmandes à voiture ou à vélo. Une section blogue donne des informations sur le secteur agroalimentaire, des recettes et des astuces de transformation et de conservation des aliments. Finalement, une boutique en ligne offre des items à l’effigie du mouvement.

 

L’application est la suite toute naturelle du mouvement du même nom lancé en avril dernier, au plus fort de la crise sanitaire. L’UPA avait alors versé quelque 1000 coordonnées de producteurs sur la plateforme Le Panier Bleu et diffusé 50 témoignages vidéo sur les réseaux sociaux, en invitant les consommateurs à visiter les fermes du Québec.

 

L’application est disponible sur Google Play et l’App Store. Une version Web sera disponible dans les prochains jours à mangeonslocal.upa.qc.ca, incluant un concours pour gagner des bons-cadeaux de 50 $ dans les points de vente de l’application.