Daniel Gobeil is elected Chair of Les Producteurs de lait du Québec

The Board of Directors of Les Producteurs de lait du Québec (PLQ) elected Daniel Gobeil, Chair of Les Producteurs de lait du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, as Chair of the PLQ. An agronomist by training, Mr. Gobeil owns the Ferme du Fjord in La Baie, which was originally bought by his grandfather. Daniel has served as First Vice-Chair of the PLQ since December 2017. He began to get involved in the PLQ in 2007.


The Ferme du Fjord has 200 heads, including 80 lactating cows. In addition to the forage needs of its herd, the farm grows crops such as barley, oats and soybean on more than 800 acres of land. Although there is no shortage of work, the family-run farm has three generations of family members working on it, which frees up enough time for Mr. Gobeil to serve on committees and participate in various organizations.


The election of the PLQ’s Chair was supposed to be held at the end of the PLQ’s Annual General Meeting on April 15 and 16, but had to be rescheduled due to public health measures aimed at stopping the spread of COVID-19. Due to the impossibility of assembling to cast votes in person, the Régie des marchés agricoles authorized the PLQ’s Board of Directors to hold the election of the Chair and the Executive Committee electronically.


Alain Brassard, Chair of Les Producteurs de lait du Centre-du-Québec, replaces Mr. Gobeil as the PLQ’s First Vice-Chair. Mr. Brassard is co-owner of the Ferme Brassard et Fils in Plessisville. He has a degree in agricultural enterprise management and operation (GEEA) from the ITA in Saint-Hyacinthe. Alain Brassard has sat on the board of directors of his regional organization since 2005 and on the PLQ Board since 2017.


Jacques Lafortune, who has been Chair of Les Producteurs de lait de Lanaudière since 2019, was elected Second Vice-Chair. He is co-owner of Ferme Jean-Claude Lafortune et Fils Inc. in Saint-Roch-de-l’Achigan. Before becoming Chair of his regional organization, Jacques was part of his agricultural advisory group’s management pool and later served as a member and First Vice-Chair of the board of directors of his local syndicate.


Richard Bouchard, Chair of Les Producteurs de lait de Capitale-Nationale–Côte-Nord, and Jean-François Morin, Chair of Les Producteurs de lait de Chaudière-Appalaches-Nord, remain members of the Executive Committee.


The PLQ’s Board of Directors is composed of the chairs of its 14 regional organizations and an observer member from the same region as its Chair. Michel Frigon of Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean will act as observer member on the Board of Directors.


The regional chairs are elected at regional meetings in the winter. Visit our Web site to see all the members: https://lait.org/en/our-organization/conseil-dadministration/


Download the press release